Languages

Welcome to our Guest Reviews Page

We are infinitely grateful to all our guests for their bounteous comments, their gracious words and praises… 
Yes, we are flattered! But, above all, we are delighted that they enjoyed their stay with us!

You can add a review at the bottom of this page

Latin Quarter Jewel Box

★★★★★
Sandy and Philippe’s rue Rollin apartment is a jewel box. In a quiet courtyard off a pedestrian street in the center of a vibrant neighborhood, it really is a home away from home, an incredible place to stay in the Latin Quarter. The location is perfect. The place de la Contrescarpe, one of the best “places” in Paris, is a block away, as are rues Mouffetard and Monge. Everything you need is close by: metro stations and bus stops, cafés, restaurants, supermarkets, butchers, bakers, green grocers, wine shops, and all types of places to shop for clothing, jewelry, souvenirs, hardware, you name it, you can find it here. Both place Monge and rue Mouffetard have outdoor markets. This is an authentic Parisian neighborhood. If you sit in a Contrescarpe café drinking coffee or sipping an apéritif, you can observe Parisian life lived to its fullest. Unlike many other areas in Paris, the 5th Arrondissement and this special neighborhood exist for its residents, not tourists. The apartment itself is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. While small, it has everything you can possibly need. I love all the artwork, furnishings and artifacts that Sandy has collected over time. I love the mellow tones, the rugs and the old hardwood floors. It is warm and welcoming. It is quiet. The living room has a very comfortable sofa bed both to sit and sleep on. The dressing room has a small single bed that I slept on during this visit. I liked sleeping in the tiny room with its little window and its desk and shelf filled with guide books, maps, cell and landline phones, even a magnifying glass. The bathroom is very modern and well appointed. The kitchen is tiny but comes fully equipped with dishes, coffee maker, toaster, every utensil imaginable, plus coffee, cereal, cookies, fresh pastries and a complimentary bottle of wine. There are fresh flowers to greet you. The drawers and cupboard in the living room contain glasses, cups, more dishes, wine openers, napkins, placemats, garbage bags, etc. The pièce de résistance, however, is Sandy and Philippe themselves, plus their little dog Mulane, of course. They are the best hosts ever. They live in the neighborhood, they love it, and they know everything about it. They are warm, friendly and available to answer questions or help you out. When you arrive, they greet you personally and thoroughly go over every detail you need to know about the apartment and the neighborhood. Because of them, you will have an unforgettable and unique visit to Paris. Not that a visitor can ever be a Parisian, but you may begin to feel like one!
- Patricia Hamilton

My Little Home in Paris is wonderful !

★★★★★
We found Our Little Home in Paris to be a wonderful place from which to enjoy the many, many pleasures of Paris. We just finished our second visit to MLHIP and it will not be our last! There are so many restaurants, cafes, bistros and shops to enjoy within a very short walk. The home is located in the Latin Quarter, which is a warm and welcoming neighborhood to all people. One of the most enjoyable things to do is merely site at a bistro at Place de la Contrescarpe and watch the world go by! No one gets in a hurry; it is all enormously relaxing. The Metro is only a few steps away, making the entire city available to you. I am reminded of a very clean, very safe New Orleans — with the wonderful food and drink readily available. Add to all that the fact that Sandy and Philippe are wonderful hosts. They are a warm and gracious couple and a delight with which to become friends. All-in-all, this is a place for a vacation of dreams.
- David and Nora Johnson

My Little Bit Of Paradise by Catharine
Date of stay: October 2018
Every year for two weeks I return to this lovely little apartment in the Latin Quarter. This is a section of Paris that has everything you could possibly need. The Contrescarpe for a meeting point & rue Mouffetard for restaurants & great shopping. The people are very friendly. The hosts of the apartment are the best you will find anywhere & equip the apartment with all the amenities & treats galore. Honestly I can’t wait to get back next year.

Michael M. said:
Date of stay: June 2018
History surrounds Sandy and Philippe’s delightful apartment on Rue Rollin, dating back to when Rue Mouffetard was a section of the Roman road linking France and Italy. Ernest and Hadley Hemingway, while in their twenties, lived at 74, rue Cardinal Lemoine, at the head of Rue Rollin. The parish of this Latin Quarter neighborhood is bonded together by Saint-Étienne-du-Mont; steeped in history dating back over eight hundred years. The church contains the shrine of Sainte-Geneviéve, the patron saint of Paris. Saint Médard anchors the south end of Rue Mouffetard, where history continues, this time fictional: Victor Hugo’s Jean Valjean often visited the church.
The cornerstone of our stay was Sandy and Philippe; the Canadian / French couple who emanate a warmth while offering every conceivable measure of help, thus making our stay a perfect one. The flat reminded Lisa and me of the below deck accommodations of cruising sailboats we have chartered; small but perfectly and intelligently laid out. Artistically decorated, stem to stern, we found it a perfect home away from home, right down to the so comfortable Italian Renato Nisi fold-out sofa. The kitchen is exactly like a galley on a boat; room for one! In a word, it worked. During our twenty-one day stay, we ate every breakfast at home and more than half of our dinners! The Place de la Contrescarpe neighborhood is a food lover’s paradise, with Rue Mouffetard, running south from the square, offering every conceivable food item, much of which is “heat & serve” (delicious roasted chicken; zero preparation!). The home-style prepared Italian dishes from a shop on Rue Lacépède, a few doors east of Rue Monge, is another “zero prep” way to put a feast on your table. Our favorite source for perfect baguettes and hearty lunchtime sandwiches was on Rue Monge, a boulangerie just south of Rue Lacépède.
When one adds it all up, we could not think of a better, more perfectly located, apartment to stay in all of Paris!
Michael & Lisa M. New-York USA

Sue P. said:
Date of stay: December 2017
Many thanks for our wonderful stay at your little home. Experiencing Paris at Christmas was new for us and it did not disappoint.
The beautiful decorations and especially the multitude of lights more than compensated for the rain!
We’ve stayed in several apartments during our Paris visits. This one was certainly the coziest!
Your flexibility and communication enable such a smooth arrival process. That alone makes a big positive difference.
I love how you’ve decorated this place; so many small touches everywhere.
We enjoyed our time with you and hope to return.
Sue & Jake P.
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Jean G. said:
Date of stay: March 2018
It is our privilege to add our names in this guest book to all those who thank you for making your home « ours ».
From meeting us while it was snowing (a total novelty for us as Queenslanders!) to our last evening of drinks at « Les Arts » your hospitality has been so generous and complete.
Your guidance in helping us get around via the Metro and buses made our 5 days in Paris so much more comfortable.
Our cultural highlight was the Jazz Night at « Piano Vache » in such a tucked away location – let alone that you had arranged the best seats in the house!
We already have loose plans to return – perhaps 2020.
Our fondest regards, Au Revoir,
Ben & Jean G.  (outside) Toowoomba, Australia.

Michelle B. said:
Date of stay: July 2018
Thank you so very much for lending us your beautiful little home. From booking it to every question you took the time to answer and very quickly, too!
The price is certainly worth every penny we paid – amazing.
Thank you for everything that you provide in the home. It is wonderful to have such comforts. You thought of everything anyone could ask for.
Thank you for the advice on where to go, places to see, transport, and just everything!
Thank you for inviting us for a drink.
We wish we could be here longer. We will miss this place and Jack has had a wonderful first time to Paris thanks to you both.
We will come again and next time for longer!
Thank you for having us and take care!
Michelle, Paul et Jack B.        Vancouver Canada

Lin said…
Nicest apartment, wonderful host/hostess and unbeatable location
Date of Stay: Jan 6, 2018
This was our 2nd time to stay at this beautiful apartment (we are from Los Angels USA). This was our little home in Paris. We were welcomed with bottle of wine, fruit juice, chocolate, fresh flowers, and King’s cakes (The date we arrived, it was Jan. 6, 2018 Three King’s Day). It was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and stocked with everything we needed, including various coffee, tea bags, sugar and honey, new kitchen scrap pads, dish washer detergent, hand detergent, sugar, honey, plush towels and clean linens, toilet paper rolls, paper towels, various of shampoo and bath gels to choose from, etc. We told ourselves that we would not come to Paris without staying with Sandy and Philippe. Our hostess and host Sandy and Philippe are the more considerate and generous people we have met. We unfortunately could not book this apartment last April (it was all booked) when we visited. We missed this place so much, we even went back to the complex to see it. We called up Sandy and Philippe for a nice dinner to meet each other and spent some time with our Paris friends. Do not hesitate to book this apartment, you will thank for your decision and will leave with wonderful memories. The apartment might be small, but it was perfect for our family of 3. The new fold out sofa bed was so cleverly designed and was large and comfortable, we did not mind folding it up every day and made the room tidy and nice. Our 11 year old daughter slept in the separate office on a comfortable Japanese Tatami bed with a soft mattress. She enjoyed her little space with a window facing the quiet courtyard. Location, location and location! The place was in the most convenient location, with 2 metro stops a few minutes walk(Pink line 7 stop of Place Monge, and line 10 stop of Cardinal Lemoine) and bus stops. But we walked everywhere. The old Paris cobble stoned Rue Mouffetard was right next to us, with restaurants, fast food crepe and Greek Gyro places , bars, coffee shops, small super markets, vegetable/fruit/seafood/cheese/wine meat markets, etc. We ate very well with low budgets there. This was a very safe area, we wondered around the cobble stoned streets at night to enjoy the traditional Paris atmosphere. The apartment was on the 2nd floor facing a quiet courtyard. We slept very well each night. We recommended this nice place to all of our friends. We will definitely stay here again!

Dan M. said…
Location, Location, Location
Date of Stay: Oct 5, 2017
This perfect and quiet little apartment is in the middle of a vibrant, thoroughly Parisian, neighborhood. Yes, it is little, but we stayed there for a week and it seemed to get larger every day as we were immersed in the real Paris. Easy access to all of the “got-to” sights but away from the glitz. Sandy and Philippe are wonderful hosts. If we are ever back in Paris, this is the only choice for us.
My Response:
Chers Dan and Carren, Meeting the two of you has been such a treat! Merci beaucoup for adding spice to our lives; we will miss you here! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are always les bienvenus!
Nos amitiés à vous deux et à votre famille, Sandy and Philippe

Roscoe K. said..
To good….not telling anyone because it makes it to hard to book
Date of Stay: Sep 8, 2017
Second time here and as there was only a gap of 3 days that’s all we could stay. Not fair that you tourists are making it so hard to get a booking. It’s tight taunt and terrific.
My Response
Chers Roscoe and Eve, it was so good to see you again! We look forward to your next visit – and a longer stay! We treasure your Australian ‘joie de vivre’! Stay well and happy! Nos amitiés, Sandy and Philippe

Sandra G. said…
Best place ever this is my third year and have already booked for next year. Owners are fab
Date of Stay: Aug 20, 2017
Sandy and Philippe are the best. Their place is charming and they go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. From our first stay we don’t want to go anywhere else. I could happily stay here for ever this is My Little Home in Paris for a while every year can’t wait to return in 2018
My Response:
Chers Sandra and Gary, Your review sums up our ‘raison d’être’ – to make our guests feel at home in Paris. Our little home really is YOUR little home. We look forward to your return next summer! Santé et amitiés, Sandy and Philippe

Catharine H. said…
My Home Away From Home
Date of Stay: Nov 7, 2016
My two weeks in Paris came to an end far too soon. Sandy, Philippe and Mulane can’t be topped as hosts. They are there to welcome you to Paris and always make you feel very special. I was extremely lucky to be the first guest to sleep in the new bed – it is made in Italy and very comfortable. This was my fourth visit to the apartment and certainly won’t be my last. Thanks for a wonderful stay.
My Response:
Chère Catharine, We couldn’t have asked for a better guest to test our new bed! May it provide all our guests with restful nights and sweet dreams in Paris! It was such a pleasure having you back in Paris. We were delighted to be able to share so many wonderful moments with you. We want to especially thank you for introducing us to YOUR Paris : Thanks to you, we have discovered several new shops, cafés and restaurants that we can recommend to future guests! We look forward to your next visit! Nos amitiés, Sandy and Philippe

Tracy and Duncan said:
Date of stay: October 2016
This little gem IS Paris! Decorated with love and attention. Live like a local in your little home.
We knew from the photos, before we even got to the description and all the five star reviews, that this would become Our Little Home in Paris. It was absolutely and exactly what we wanted and dreamt of when we were planning our week-long stay. We like to immerse ourselves in our neighbourhoods when we travel. We want to pretend, for a short time, that we are locals. This apartment and this location was perfect for that. From the instant Sandy and Mulane met us on the street, a block from the apartment, and guided us “home”, we felt welcome. That feeling continued and expanded as we were led to Our Little Home. There, we met Phillipe. Sandy and Phillipe are so charming and warm and full of advice about food and transport and markets and, well, everything. Additionally, they have forgotten NOTHING in their furnishing and equipping of this apartment. You will, I promise, feel instantly comforted, knowing that everything has been thought of here – guidebooks, bus timetables, equipment chargers, tissues, shopping baskets, notepads, local cell phone with important numbers already programmed for you (!), tea, coffee, spices, chocolate, umbrellas, shampoo, conditioner, make-up mirror, hair straightener….I could go on and on but, hopefully this gives you some small idea of the incredible thought and attention that has gone into this little home. This is truly a labour of love. Love for Paris, love of decor, love of the Rue Mouffetard neighbourhood and love for this little collection of old tanners lodgings that are now home to residents and, if you’re lucky, you, if only for a short time. The literal icing on the cake were the pastries waiting for us in the fridge, which we enjoyed with the bottle of wine, so thoughtfully also waiting for us on arrival. Yes, wine and pastries mid-afternoon – THAT’s what it’s all about, my friends! The tourist attractions can wait :oD When we travel, we are impressed by people. Yes, we want comfort and we want cleanliness and we want professionalism but, what makes our vacations memorable are the human connections we make. Sandy and Phillipe have put their heart into this apartment and there is nothing they love more than sharing it. If you are lucky enough to manage to get in (they’re understandably booked out many, many months in advance), treasure that booking and look forward to the exceptional experience provided by your hosts.
Owner response: Chers Tracy et Duncan, Your review has left us speechless! We honestly don’t know what to say – except MERCI! Merci for all your kind words. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in your little home and neighbourhood. Tout le plaisir est pour nous! It has been such a pleasure for us to meet you. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on line. We sincerely hope you will return so we can raise our glasses together and share some bons moments ensemble. We wish you both all the best in your future projects. Please keep in touch when you have a little time. Nos amitiés, Sandy and Philippe

Colleen said…
Amazing Hospitality!!
Date of Stay: Sep 11, 2017
What a lovely cozy apartment but even more than this, what charming hosts! You can tell that Sandy and Philippe genuinely love sharing their home and go all out to make their guests feel welcome. They are the epitome of hospitality thoughtfully providing everything we needed for a wonderful stay including loads of information on things to do and how to get around. How special we felt with the unexpected treats of food, drink and fresh flowers! They are a wealth of information and respond very quickly to emails. The location was very convenient for public transportation. Although only steps from a popular area with many cafes, restaurants, specialty food stores and general grocery stores, it is an amazingly quiet apartment. I lay in bed at night in the very comfortable convertible sofa/bed (and I have have back issues!) and could not hear a single sound – it was that quiet. They have a cell phone you can borrow in case you need to get a hold of them as well as a landline to make free international calls. I am reluctant to say this because it will likely make it harder for me to find availability for my next stay, but this is THE place for your next stay in Paris. Merci beaucoup Sandy et Philippe.
My Response
Chers Colleen and Henry, It is music to our ears to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay at our little home. And what a treat for us to meet such enthusiastic travelers as yourselves! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Paris any time! A la prochaine visite! Sandy and Philippe

Please add Your Review using this form

Name
Email
Review Title
Rating
Review Content